Export Import Bank Of India

Export Import Bank of India is the premier export finance institution of the country

Export-Import Bank of India is the premier export finance institution of the country. It commenced operations in 1982 under the Export-Import Bank of India Act 1981. Government of India launched the institution with a mandate to not just enhance exports from India, but also to integrate the country’s foreign trade and investment with the overall economic growth. Exim Bank of India has been both a catalyst and a key player in the promotion of cross-border trade and investment. Commencing operations as a purveyor of export credit, like other Export Credit Agencies in the world, Exim Bank of India has evolved into an institution that plays a major role in partnering Indian industries, particularly the Small and Medium Enterprises through a wide range of products and services offered at all stages of the business cycle, starting from import of technology and export product development to export production, export marketing, pre-shipment and post-shipment and overseas investment.

Since its inception, Exim Bank has had, at the helm of its affairs, leading banking professionals as Chief Executive Officers. Shri R.C. Shah, a seasoned banker, with vast commercial and international banking experience, was the first Chairman and Managing Director of Exim Bank during January 1982-January 1985. His vision helped the setting up of the institution as a unique organizational model, with a flat, non-hierarchical culture, multi-disciplinary approach to problem-solving, access to the latest technology and a climate for innovation. He was succeeded by Shri Kalyan Banerji, who was the Chairman and Managing Director during February 1985-April 1993. Shri Banerji had long years of commercial banking experience, with exposure to international banking. Ms. Tarjani Vakil took over as the Chairperson and Managing Director of the Bank in August 1993 and guided the institution in its endeavors for export capability creation, till October 1996. She was succeeded by Shri Y.B. Desai, who was the Managing Director of the Bank during August 1997-April 2001. Shri T.C. Venkat Subramanian then took over as Chairman and Managing Director of Exim Bank in May 2001 and retired in October 2009. Smt. Ravneet Kaur, then Joint Secretary (IF) Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance headed the institution from November 2009 to March 2010. She was succeeded by Shri T.C.A. Ranganathan in April 2010 who headed the institution for over 3 years and retired in November 2013. After the retirement of Shri Ranganathan, Shri Anurag Jain, Joint Secretary, Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance held the interim charge of CMD till mid-February. Shri Yaduvendra Mathur, IAS, has joined Exim Bank as its present Chairman and Managing Director on February 20, 2014. Prior to his joining Exim Bank, Shri Mathur was the Chairman and Managing Director, Rajasthan Financial Corporation. He is an Indian Administrative Service Officer of the 1986 batch and has had long stints in various positions in the Finance Department including Principal Secretary Finance, Government of Rajasthan. During his postings under the Department of Economic Affairs (2001-2003) at Cote d'Ivoire and Tunisia, Shri Mathur had worked as Assistant to the Executive Director (representing India, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland and Switzerland) of African Development Bank. He was then actively engaged with the Export-Import Bank of India in enhancing and promoting business opportunities for Indian companies in the African continent through Technical Cooperation Agreements.
Exim Bank of India has been guided by expertise at the Board level, by senior policy makers, expert bankers, leading players in industry and international trade as well as professionals in exports or imports or financing thereof. As per the Exim Bank Act, at a particular point in time, the Bank can have a maximum of 16 directors on its Board. Including Chairman and Managing Director, the Bank’s Board constitutes of 13 directors who are appointed by the Government of India, they are five top-level Government of India functionaries, three directors from scheduled commercial banks and four directors who are industry/trade experts. Three other directors are nominated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), Industrial Development Bank of India (IDBI) and ECGC Ltd respectively.
Next Post »